Car Insurance for Missouri Drivers
If you’re traveling through the Gateway to the West to enjoy the views along the Mississippi or heading out to catch some live music in Branson, you want to feel secure as you travel the roadways of Missouri. You can trust in car insurance from the AARP® Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford1, because we’ve been protecting Missouri AARP members and their families since 1984.
Are you in the market for car insurance? We can help. Read on to learn more about buying car insurance in Missouri, and request a quote from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford. The AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford has the reputation for integrity and trust that experienced drivers look for, along with high customer ratings for claims services.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered to Missouri Drivers
Missouri drivers could receive valuable car insurance benefits from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford, including:
12-month Rate Protection
New Car Replacement§§
24/7 Claim Service
Required Car Insurance Coverages in Missouri
Missouri state law requires liability car insurance at the following minimum limits2:
$25,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident.
$50,000 for bodily injury, total per accident.
$10,000 for property damage per accident.
Proof of Car Insurance in Missouri
Missouri state law requires you to furnish a copy of your car insurance ID card if requested by a police officer or other party if involved in an accident. That’s why it’s a good idea to keep a copy of your car insurance ID card in the vehicle with your registration. For added convenience, Missouri is now among the states that will accept an electronic copy of your ID card. With The Hartford’s mobile app, you can store your ID card right on your mobile device. Visit the App Store™ or Google Play™ for more information.
Missouri Uninsured Driver Facts
According to a 2012 Insurance Research Council report, 14 percent of Missouri drivers are uninsured. This is slightly above the national average of 12.6%.3
Uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage can help with your medical bills if you’re in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or a driver who does not have adequate car insurance coverage. In Missouri, your uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage must have the following minimum coverage amounts2:
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
Additional Car Insurance Coverages Available to Missouri Drivers
For added protection, Missouri drivers may also be eligible for the following coverages from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford:
Staying Safe on Missouri Roads
As you travel through Missouri, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on Missouri’s highways and byways. Here are just a few4:
Missouri Seat Belt Laws:
Missouri does not currently have a mandatory seat belt law, but you can still be ticketed for not wearing your seat belt if you’re pulled over for another motor vehicle violation.
Missouri Teen Driver Laws:
Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for all teenagers, and Missouri wants to be sure they stay safe in the process! Missouri has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teenagers gain the experience and maturity that’s required to be safe behind the wheel. Graduated licensing laws limit nighttime driving, restrict teen passengers and ensure an adequate amount of supervised driving practice.