Car Insurance for New Hampshire Drivers
Welcome New Hampshire drivers! Are you looking to request a car insurance quote, or find out more information about buying car insurance in New Hampshire? Well, you’ve come to the right place. The AARP® Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford1 has been protecting AARP members in New Hampshire and their families with car insurance since 1984, and has earned a reputation for integrity and trust.
History and natural beauty can be found in every corner of New Hampshire. Whether you’re taking a trip to the coastline, or hiking upstate, the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford will keep you secure as you travel along New Hampshire’s roadways.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered to New Hampshire Drivers
New Hampshire drivers could receive valuable car insurance benefits from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford, including:
2-month Rate Protection
New Car Replacement§§
24/7 Claim Service
Required Car Insurance Coverages in New Hampshire
New Hampshire state law requires liability car insurance at the following minimum limits:2
$25,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident.
$50,000 for bodily injury, total per accident.
$25,000 for property damage per accident.
Proof of Car Insurance in New Hampshire
New Hampshire state law requires you to furnish a copy of your car insurance ID card if requested by a police officer or other party if involved in an accident. That’s why it’s a good idea to keep a copy of your ID card in the vehicle with your registration. For added convenience, New Hampshire is now among the states that will accept an electronic copy of your ID card. With The Hartford’s mobile app, you can store your ID card right on your mobile device. Visit the App Store™ or Google Play™ for more information.
New Hampshire Uninsured Driver Facts
According to a 2012 Insurance Research Council report, 9.3 percent of New Hampshire drivers are uninsured. This is below the national average of 12.6%.3
Uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage can help with your medical bills if you’re in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or a driver who does not have adequate car insurance coverage. In New Hampshire, your uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage must have the following minimum coverage amounts:2
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
Additional Car Insurance Coverages and Benefits Available to NH Drivers
For added protection, New Hampshire drivers may also be eligible for the following coverages from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford:
Staying Safe on New Hampshire Roads
As you travel through New Hampshire, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on New Hampshire’s highways and byways. Here are just a few:4
New Hampshire Seat Belt Laws:
Although New Hampshire does not have seat belt laws for those about the age of 18, the state strongly suggests all passengers wear one.
New Hampshire Distracted Driving Laws:
New Hampshire has a number of laws in place to discourage distracted driving:
New drivers in New Hampshire are not allowed to use hand-held cell phones.
Texting while driving is banned in the State of New Hampshire.
New Hampshire Teen Driver Laws:
Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for all teenagers, and New Hampshire wants to be sure they stay safe in the process! New Hampshire has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teenagers gain the experience and maturity that’s required to be safe behind the wheel. Graduated licensing laws limit nighttime driving, restrict teen passengers and ensure an adequate amount of supervised driving practice.