Employee Benefits School


Employee Benefits School

This career-shaping program provides a comprehensive introduction to the various employee benefits products through a carrier neutral approach to learning. It combines industry and product knowledge with an integrated, hands-on approach to selling and servicing benefits programs. It is designed to provide professionals who are newer to employee benefits with the knowledge, skills and confidence required to be successful.
 
Through highly interactive classroom and virtual presentations, group activities, and structured feedback sessions, attendees will gain extensive knowledge of the various benefits products sold in the market. Case studies and role plays will ensure that new benefits professionals will effectively position and differentiate themselves.
 
Who is this program for?
 
New Producers and Account Managers who need solid foundational insurance training in the Employee Benefits marketplace. 
 
This program is offered both virtually and in-classroom. What's the difference between classroom and virtual?
 
image
 
Upon completion of this program, a new group benefits professional will be able to:
 
  • Explain the foundations of group benefits and the regulations that drive the business
  • Apply consultative sales skills to sales and service situations for optimal business outcomes
  • Explain the basic concepts of the medical insurance market, health plan types and funding arrangements
  • Discuss the concepts behind vision, pharmacy, retiree medical and other specialized medical products
  • Summarize the basic provisions, funding mechanisms and plan types of the group dental market
  • Explain group life market trends, benefits available and the policy provisions included in group life products
  • Distinguish between the various contract provisions and market trends in group disability
  • Define voluntary business, the current migration trends toward voluntary and the enrollment options available
  • Develop effective carrier relationships and optimize group benefits business potential
This comprehensive four-day (classroom) or five-day (virtual) training program is conducted by the school’s experienced benefits instructors. Class sizes are limited to ensure highly effective, interactive, hands on instruction.
 
Topics include:
 
  • Group Insurance Concepts
  • Regulation of Group Insurance
  • Carrier Relations
  • Medical Plans
  • The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA)
  • Pharmacy and Dental Coverage
  • Wellness, Vision, and Employee Assistance Program
  • Disability Coverage
  • Group Life Insurance

Classroom Instruction Times:
 
  • Day 1 - 3: 8:30am - 4:00pm
  • Day 4: 8:30am - 1:00pm (Please take this into consideration when booking returning flights)
 
Virtual Instruction Times:

Daily Morning Session:

11:00am - 1:00pm Eastern Time; 10:00am - 12:00pm Central Time; 9:00am - 11:00am Mountain Time; 8:00am - 10:00am Pacific Time

Daily Afternoon Session:
2pm - 5pm Eastern Time; 1pm - 4pm Central Time; 12pm - 3pm Mountain Time; 11am -2pm Pacific Time

‚Äč*Students must attend both sessions. Participation in the virtual phase is a full day commitment and requires students to give 100% of their daily focus and time for the duration of the program. The students are given mandatory assignments to work on and complete before, in between and after daily virtual sessions.

For additional questions or guidance about this program, please contact one of our Sales Consultants at (800) 772-0208.
 
  • Classroom ProgramsClick here to view Continuing Education (CE) credit hours filed in your state.
Students wishing to obtain CE Credits must be licensed prior to attending the program. Please note: CE credit hours are subject to change per insurance department regulation and reviews.
 
  • Virtual Classroom Programs: Because these programs do not include traditional classroom training, these programs are currently not filed for CE credits in any state.
Have a CE question? Call our Training Coordination service team at
(800) 772-0208.
 
Tuition: $1,295 (plus state tax) and includes all training materials.Travel, lodging and meals are separate costs and paid by the participant. Tuition can be paid using Master Card, Visa, American Express, or check.
 
If your primary work location is in Connecticut, Hawaii, New Mexico, South Dakota or West Virginia you are required to pay state tax on non-continuing education courses.
  • Cancellations received more than 30 days prior to start of the program will receive a full refund.
  • No refunds will be issued for cancellations received less than 30 days prior to the start of the program. Students will be given one opportunity to transfer to another session, preferably within the same calendar year.
  • Refunds are not available for transferred programs.
Attendees are responsible for arranging their own travel and lodging, and for covering all costs incurred (including travel, lodging, and meals) while participating in the program. Hartford School of Insurance has negotiated special room rates with selected hotels. Attendees may also select to make alternatives arrangements.
 
Travel arrangements should not be made until registration confirmation has been received. Return flights should not be made before 5:00 pm on the last of class.
 
Click on the link below to view training locations and corresponding accommodations.

View Group Benefits Training Locations & Accommodations

Program Reviews