Car Insurance for Kansas Drivers
Welcome to the AARP® Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford,1 Kansas drivers! This is the place to be if you need a car insurance quote or just want to learn more about buying car insurance in the state of Kansas.
There are many reasons to be on the road in the state of Kansas – whether you’re traveling the scenic byways of the Flint Hills or taking in the beautiful wildflowers of the northwest. As an experienced Kansas driver, you want to feel protected by car insurance you can trust. Since 1984, many Kansas AARP members and their families have trusted the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford for their car insurance needs. The Hartford’s car insurance comes with a reputation for integrity and trust as well as high customer ratings for claims services.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered to Kansas Drivers
Kansas drivers could receive valuable car insurance benefits from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford, including:
12-month Rate Protection
New Car Replacement§§
24/7 Claim Service
Required Liability Insurance Coverages in Kansas
Kansas state law requires liability car insurance at the following minimum limits:2
$25,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident
$50,000 for bodily injury, total per accident
$25,000 for property damage per accident
Proof of Car Insurance in Kansas
Kansas state law requires you to furnish a copy of your car insurance ID card if requested by a police officer or other party if involved in an accident. That’s why it’s a good idea to keep a copy of your ID card in the vehicle with your registration. For added convenience, Kansas is now among the states that will accept an electronic copy of your ID card. With The Hartford’s mobile app, you can store your ID card right on your mobile device. Visit the App Store™ or Google Play™ for more information.
Kansas Uninsured Driver Facts
According to a 2012 Insurance Research Council report, 9.4% of Kansas drivers are uninsured. This is below the national average of 12.6%.3
Kansas requires uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage to help with your medical bills after an accident caused by either an uninsured driver or a driver who does not have adequate car insurance coverage. Your uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage must have the following minimum coverage amounts:2
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
Additional Car Insurance Coverages Available to Kansas Drivers
For added protection, Kansas drivers may also be eligible for the following coverages from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford:
Increased Rental Reimbursement
Staying Safe on Kansas Roads
As you travel through Kansas, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on Kansas’s highways and byways. Here are just a few:4
Kansas Seat Belt Laws:
Kansas is one of 34 states that have a primary seat belt law – which means that law enforcement can ticket a driver or passenger for not wearing a seat belt without any other traffic violation.
Kansas Distracted Driving Laws:
Kansas has a number of laws in place to discourage distracted driving:
New drivers in Kansas are not allowed to use hand-held or hands-free cell phones.
Texting while driving is banned in the State of Kansas.
Kansas Teen Driver Laws:
Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for all teenagers, and Kansas wants to be sure they stay safe in the process! Kansas has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teenagers gain the experience and maturity that’s required to be safe behind the wheel. Graduated licensing laws limit nighttime driving, restrict teen passengers and ensure an adequate amount of supervised driving practice.